Vega plays Beethoven & Garner

Vega plays Beethoven & Garner


This recording includes Beethoven's Quartet in F, op. 59 no. 1 as well as David Kirkland Garner's 2009 work, i ain't broke (but i'm badly bent): thirteen fiddle tunes for string quartet.  These two pieces were composed almost exactly 200 years apart, yet together they demonstrate the  breadth of expression possible within the quartet genre.

Add To Cart

Ludwig van Beethoven  Quartet in F major, op. 59 no. 1 “Razumovsky”

1. Allegro

2. Allegretto vivace e sempre scherzando

3. Adagio molto e mesto

4. Thème russe. Allegro

David Kirkland Garner  i ain’t broke (but i’m badly bent): thirteen fiddle tunes for string quartet (2009)

5. drowsy maggie

6.   georgianna moon

7.   red haired boy

8.   the day dawn

9.   red haired boy (reprise)

10. i ain’t broke (but i’m badly bent)

11. the kid on the mountain

12. shady grove

13. saratoga hornpipe

14. chinquapin hunting

15. isle of mull

16. the tenpenny bit

17. sweet ‘taters in sandy land


Copyright 2017

Producer: Fyodor Cherniavsky

Recording Engineer: Lou Simmons

Digital Editor: Fred Horton

Photo Credit: Nate Dorn

Recorded March 2017

Emerson Hall, Schwartz Center for Performing Arts

Emory University, Atlanta Georgia